Bluff Creek Triathlon

         On Sunday, I raced the Bluff Creek Sprint Triathlon in Ogden, Iowa. The race was held at Don Williams Park.I had a great race! For the 500 meter swim, 15 mile bike and 5k run, plus transitions, my overall time was 1 hour 22 minutes! A new P.R.! (Although, it’s hard to compare courses. So, next year….) I felt good until the run. I had a way better than usual swim (great point to point course!), solid bike, but had trouble controlling my breathing and kicking on the run. I just felt slow. I still had a decent 5k time of 21:24. I won my age group (19 and under females.) But, congrats to Olivia Jenks who placed 2nd overall and kicked my butt at only race age 13! (The top three overall for each gender were taken out of the age group places, so technically I placed second in my age group. Again, way to go Olivia!) I was awarded a pint glass (for lemonade, green tea and milk, of course! Ha!Ha!) with the Bluff Creek Tri logo. A cute and practical alternative to a medal. I also got a adorable lime green v-neck wicking shirt that came withthe race cost. Triathlons always have the best swag!!!

One response to “Bluff Creek Triathlon

  1. Pingback: What I Did This Summer | Read Run Repeat·

Leave a Reply

