Last Day of Summer/Back To School

          I’m sad to say that today is my last day of summer. fortunately, it was an amazing end to an amazing summer. My day started with an hour of Power Yoga via youtube and a light breakfast. I then completed some chores, read the newspaper, checked my email and handled some last-minute back to school organizing.

         Next, I headed to a later than usual (for summer practices) cross country practice. We ran a 5k tempo run that I thought was going to be four miles, but then my coach and the lead runner, Megan, stopped at the 3.1 mile mark. I still had a good time of 20:15 despite the confusion, heat and hilly route!

        Following practice, I walked to Strive Nutrition on Ingersoll with my younger sister Olivia and her best friend Margaret to celebrate the last day of school. I blogged about my first visit to Strive here. I have been to Strive at least three times since then. It’s my new healthy (and kind of pricey) addiction. Today, I had an aloe shot, lemon-raspberry iced green tea and a Butterfinger flavored protein shake (All three drinks come together for $7.50.) It ended up being lunch and was filling and gone way faster than my sister and her friend’s. Next, we took a leisurely walk to Greenwood Park and back while finishing our protein shakes.

          After that, I quickly took an ice bath and changed for a trip to the mall. I was in need of some new jeans for school and am someone who has a tough time finding ones that fit. I entered Jordan Creek Mall in West Des Moines with the mindset that I was coming out with at least two new pairs of jeans. After a summer of searching for the perfect jeans, and an afternoon of back and forth between Hollister and Abercrombie, I finally found two perfect pairs at Abercrombie. Plus, they were on sale! Done and done!

             Post-shopping trip, I enjoyed a quick snack and then headed out on my bike for a 26 mile bike ride on the Bill Riley and Great Western. I rode from my house to Cumming Tap (without stopping for beer) and back. My legs felt really heavy and sore on the way out, but great on the way back. Weird, but better than feeling cruddy the whole time. It felt good to get out there and get some mileage in, even if it wasn’t as fast as I’d hoped. Oh well, I had a pretty hard workout this morning!

          I finished my workout with some stretching and foam-rolling. I then refueled with taco salad, fruit, and a glass of almond-coconut milk for dinner. Now, I am typing up this blog post and looking forward to the rest of the week. As I’ve probably mentioned: SCHOOL STARTS TOMORROW! It’s hard to believe, but thankfully it’s only a half day on Thursday, a full day Friday and then the WEEKEND! You know, because they wouldn’t want to overwhelm us so soon. Ha!Ha!

        As for the weekend, I’m planning on having a lot of fun. I’ll spend Saturday and Sunday morning trying out some classes at the new Powerlife Yoga on Ingersoll Avenue (Opens this Saturday!) with my free one week pass (available for all new students!) Saturday from 2-11 p.m. is Ingersoll Live, which will definitely be a blast, as always! And, on Sunday night I have my Plymouth Church Youth Group/Matins Choir Kick-off Party! I’m so excited! All the yoga and partying will be a great way to relax after a stressful day and a half of school. HA!

Leave a Reply

