A Lovely Labor Day

        Today was a lovely Labor Day! I obviously had no school, so I had some time to do whatever I wanted. The day flew by between the gorgeous weather and fun free-time. I slept in until 8 a.m. and ate a quick breakfast of a Cilf Mojo bar and a short glass of almond-coconut milk.

           Next, I walked over to PowerLife Yoga on Ingersoll, where I have been going religiously since the Downtown location opened last Saturday. I attended the 9 a.m. Sculpt class and 10:30 a.m. Power 2 class. Both were great workouts and went by quickly.

         By the time I got home, I was hungry! So, I made scrambled eggs with turkey, goat cheese and spinach. I paired the eggs with two slices of whole wheat bread, toasted and topped with coconut oil and homemade (by my mom) gooseberry-raspberry jam. It was a tasty and filling breakfast-for-lunch.

             Post-lunch, I took an ice bath (While in the ice bath I finished reading Maya Angelou’s ‘I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings.’) and showered before diving into math and art homework.

           Following my study session, I changed into my bikini and enjoyed some time in the sun with a great journal/book, ‘Listography’. I forgot that I had ‘Listography’ and hadn’t gotten very far in filling it out. As the name suggests, it’s a biography of your life in lists. It’s a lot of fun and really gets you thinking. I got it from the Des Moines Art Center gift shop with a gift card a while back.

           I ended my afternoon with a long walk/hike to and in Greenwood Park with my dog, Copper. The temperature has finally cooled down after a week of nearly all 100+ degree days.

            Following our adventure, I ate a delicious dinner of salad and cantaloupe. Then, I settled onto the couch to watch a couple of episodes of ‘Pretty Little Liars,’ on On Demand, with my lil’ sis. Following some enticing mystery, I prepped stuff for school tomorrow and had a snack. Now, I’m blogging (of course!)

Leave a Reply

