Giving Thanks!

I’m leaving for a long drive to my grandparents, who live in Illinois, right after I type up this post. I think it’s important to take a few minutes to reflect on all the things I’m grateful for. I’ve had a rough start to the week. So rough that yesterday felt like Friday instead of Tuesday. Unfortunatly, I’m someone who gets caught up in the little things and is easily frustrated. I always need the little reminder not to pity myself and to remember how fortunate I am to be healthy, happy and loved. Here’s just a quick list of things in my life that I’m grateful for:

  • A loving, supporting family

Just a few examples of the many, many ways my parents support me: Encouraging me to pursue my passions by signing up for Power Sculpt Teacher Training, being advocates for my education, letting me go to cross country camps at colleges, taking me to cool new places and teaching me how to drive.

  • Good health

I am so fortunate to have a healthy, fit and functioning body. I don’t have to be on any medication. After struggling with a running injury in the Spring, I am more grateful than ever to have a body that lets me do what I love without pain.

  • Friends
  • Teammates

The Roosevelt Cross Country and Track girls!

  • Classmates

Even though they drive me crazy sometimes, their humor and light-heartedness always make a stressful school day go by a bit faster.

  • Teachers

I am blessed with some of the smartest, helpful and supportive teachers this year at Gateway Secondary School!

  • Coaches

Esp. Coach Jacob and Coach Scott. Best wishes to Jacob in his new home of Lincoln, Nebraska! He’ll be greatly missed. I’m sure Scott will make a great head coach!

  • Power Life Yoga and its instructors

Power Life Yoga literally changed my life. And, in so many ways. I love being challenged by their Sculpt, Barre and Power Yoga classes almost every day. Having Power Life move in within walking distance of my house gave me the opportunity to have a more regular yoga practice, learn crazy bad-ass arm balances, have a place that welcomed someone so young for teacher training and meet some pretty amazing people. I love that every time I go to Power life people are so complimentary and enthusiastic. There are a countless number of days when I walk out of a class, having my day turned around. There is definitely a very strong sense of community in every class at Power Life.

  • The Basics: Food, clean water, shelter and clothing

So much of your life depends on the family you’re born into. I am so lucky to have been born into a loving family that provides for me, in an amazing place called Des Moines, Iowa.

  • My youth
  • That living to an old age runs in my family
  • Plymouth Church

I feel truly at home everytime I step into Plymouth Church. Ever since I became a member of Plymouth church, I’ve felt so much closer to God and my community. I love being in the Matins Choir and youth group. I am also very lucky to be paired with the best Youth Shares sponsor ever! I’m talking about you, Nancy Landess!

 

Feel free to share your own list in the comments below!

I’ll be back with some Thanksgiving week workout tips!

Leave a Reply

